Why do we have a minimum order spend?


We like to ensure that you're getting the best value. We've set a minimum spend of £3.00 (excluding delivery) so the cost of delivery is then nicely spread across what you buy, that way our low prices stay low and you get the best value for money!


What are the Haram / Not Permissible ‘E’ Numbers?


Most additives are permissible. We must take full care in checking ingredients carefully before purchasing any product. Additives are not always listed as 'E' numbers so please read the ingredients carefully. You can check on the: http://www.muslimconsumergroup.com/e-numbers_list.html and other websites also such as http://www.sanha.co.za/a/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1720&Itemid=258 to cross check ingredients. If in doubt it is better to avoid.

As per Sanha the following are always of animal origin:
E120 Cochineal: a red colour obtained from female insects
E441 Gelatine: derived from the boned and/ or hides of cattle and/ or pigs
E542 Edible Bone Phosphate: an extract from animal bones

The common confusion of E471
This additive can be either of animal or plant origin. If it is of plant origin then it should be investigated on a case-by-case basis based on product and manufacturer, as advised by 'Sanha'.


What are ‘E’ numbers?


What are 'E' numbers?

E-Numbers represent specific food additives, used by the industry in the manufacture of various food products. E-Numbers have been formulated by the European Economic Community (EEC) and are universally adopted by the food industry worldwide.

The E-numbers are categorised as follows:
E100-199      food colours
E200-299      preservatives
E300-399      antioxidants, phosphates, and complexing agents
E400-499      thickeners, gelling agents, phosphates, humectants, emulsifiers
E500-599      salts and related compounds
E600-699      flavour enhancers
E700-899      not used for food additives (used for feed additives)
E900-999      surface coating agents, gases, sweeteners
E1000-1399      miscellaneous additives
E1400-1499      starch derivatives


Are your sweets suitable for vegetarians?


Yes (Some) - Certain sweets are suitable for vegetarians.
These sweets are stated as 'suitable for vegetarians' in the description for the sweet. These sweets do not contain alcohol or the food additive 'E' number: 'E120' also known as 'Carmine/Cochineal' (an artificial food colour derived from animal source).


Are your sweets Halal?


Gummy Box only sells Halal sweets and strongly maintains it's stance in ensuring that sweets sold by us are Halal. We source our sweets from select suppliers, those containing Halal Gelatin are manufactured by Sweet Zone. Other sweets are from other trusted sources and where sweets are suitable for vegetarians we ensure they do not contain alcohol or certain food colourings. Many of the sweets are also from HMC Certified producers of sweets.

Certain manufacturers such as Swizzels have sweets containing Gelatine in their regular range, however in their miniature form they are suitable for Vegetarians and do not contain any artificial colours, such as E120.

Sweet Zone sweets are free from non-halal gelatin, colours such as E120 (Carmine/Cochineal), and any other animal derived ingredients from non-halal animals.

What is Halal?

Halal products are essentially products that are suitable for consumption by Muslims according to Islamic laws. The laws require that only certain types of meat can be eaten and that meat must be prepared in a certain way, It is also essential that halal food is not prepared with non-halal food as there is a risk of cross contamination if a chef accidentally uses the same knife to cut the different types of meat with for example.

According to the Qur’an and Islamic law some substances are wrong for people to eat, whether by their nature or in the way in which they have been treated or butchered, so all halal meat is prepared according to strict guidelines;

Meat from pigs
Meat from pigs is not allowed, so there is no such thing as halal pork and halal meat must never come into contact with pig meat or anything else that has been in contact with pig meat to avoid contamination.

Blood is considered harmful to consume; as part of its preparation halal meat should be drained completely of blood, which also keeps the meat fresher for longer.

Halal meat must never include nor come into contact with meat from carnivores or birds of prey.

Humans should not make food from an already dead animal, so meat prepared in the halal way is killed as an integral part of the slaughter process; most western preparations kill the animal first then slaughter them later on.

Strangulation, beating, goring or savaging
To be halal meat animals must be killed quickly in a certain way, it is unacceptable to eat meat from an animal that has been strangled, beaten, gored or savaged by other animals.

Muslims should not consume any kind of alcohol and as such halal food cannot be prepared with alcohol of any kind or include alcohol in sauces.

In the name of Allah
Allah’s name should be pronounced over the meat as thanks during the slaughter process, any animal slaughtered in another idol’s name can never be halal.
Sweet Zone's gelatin is not from mechanically slaughtered animals. Sweet Zone confirms that mechanical slaughtering is normally used in relation to chickens due to the high speed at which these are slaughtered, and that Sweet Zone gelatin is from cows that are slaughtered manually by hand.

This is the name for the halal method of slaughter, which requires that animals are killed with a swift incision to the throat from a razor sharp blade. The animal must never see another animal being slaughtered nor must it ever see the blade being sharpened. Animals must be checked prior to slaughter to ensure they are healthy and given clean water to drink, once they have drunk they are turned to face Mecca, the name of Allah is spoken and then the throat is cut and the blood drained from the carcass.

When carried out correctly the sudden drop in blood pressure to the brain renders the animal brain dead within seconds and many researchers have found Dhabiha to be less stressful and painful to the animal than modern western methods of slaughter. The intention behind all of this is to ensure that the meat is fresh and free of impurities, the animal is given proper respect and Allah is thanked for providing us with food.

Halal certificates below apply for all Sweet Zone sweets such as Cola Bottles, Happy Bears etc., Marshmallows, Pencils.


Halal Certification